Lazy Friday

Lazy Friday

So sometimes the organization Tetsuya works for does special events for kids. This December I’m doing an American Christmas program!

I’m super excited. I love Christmas, I even came prepared with a Christmas Story book. Now if only I could get them to light candles and sign Christmas Hynms. (More to come, but none of these daydreams came true. lol)

So the Japanese are always prepared. I’m sure they are all boy scouts. As such we had a rehearsal for the Christmas event.

So we could make sure
we have everything we need and can do everything correctly.
Speaking of being prepared…. Tetsuya put the snow tires on the car! By himself. Like seriously.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He bought a car jack and changed the tires!!!

Someone was camera shy- how unusual.

Someone was camera shy- how unusual.

I’ve never seen this been done, is it because I’ve never owned a car before? Anyway by the time November rolls around around switches to snow tires.

The sun was strong in November so no jacket!

The sun was strong in November so no jacket!

For the Christmas event we are making Sweet potato casserole and gingerbread houses!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sweet potatoes are a little bit different from back home, they had harder yellow insides purple outsides and a little bit more dry when cooked.

Picture perfect!

Picture perfect!

So we had to change the recipe a little bit. I also made it less sweet. I know I’m a traitor to my southern roots. We might also have a problem come the actual event because we are currently in the middle of a butter shortage. The horror!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We tested out various marshmallow melting procedures. I’ve only seen one oven in Japan. At Tetsuya’s mom’s house…. she’s a professional baker.

Anyway we were able to make the casserole smooth after straining out the lumps. A bit time consuming but utlra perfect!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then we go to test out the gignerbread houses! The coordinators have never made them before so we had to practice in advance so we would know what supplies we needed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We spurlged and bought real graham crackers. Let me tell you those things are cheap. Not here anyway. Also beans cost just as much as meat which breaks my heart just a little bit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was really amazed that the ladies didn’t get their hands covered in Royal icing. Maybe I’m a little too hands on.

My dream house!

My dream house!

Of course we tried the sweet potato casserole, how else could we see it wasn’t poisoned?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Lazy Friday

Leave a Reply

