Jodogahama

Sooooo,

Tetsuya reminded me that we went to the beach and I never wrote a blog about it. Ohhhh sad times!  This was a lovely beach trip and ohh so memorable. Maybe I just wanted to save this memory for myself and not share it? Too late now.

So we went to Jodogohama in August, the last week of swimming time. The water here is notoriously cold and Locals say jellyfish inhabit the water after  the Obon period, so after Mid-August.  So our Precious swimming time is very short.

Jodo is a good 1.5-2 hour car ride away so its a full on day trip!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So we came prepared! There is much to do, they have a visitor center, short hiking trails( which we will go on later), sightseeing boat, a smaller boat ride thingie, and of course, a beach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We decided to go on a short boat ride that goes into a cave. Its only 1500 yen per person  or $15 for a 20 min boat ride. Totally worth it!!!!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pay your fare, get your gear, enjoy a beer while waiting for you name to be called.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They give you shrimp flavored snacks.  We thought they were for human consumption, we later found out it was for the birds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m totally prepared for anything.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Captain Tetsuya ready for duty!

They call your name form a loudspeaker and you meander your way to  the boat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our boat! JK, I wish, you can’t take that into a cave

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our real boat.

Your adventure begins with a private boat tour around the bay.  Little did we know the shrimp chips were to be tribute to the protectors of the bay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

YOU SHALL NOT PASS!

We had upset the natural balance of the bay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They held Tetsuya hostage until we agreed to give them the leftover chips after our boat ride. They were in Tetsuyas bag so we couldn’t get to them yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tetsuya tries to learn their flying ways.

Our tormentor is not amused, but leaves us in peace.

Our tormentor is not amused, but leaves us in peace.

Lovely rock islands, there is also a shrine there somewhere.

Lovely rock islands, there is also a shrine there somewhere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The entrance of the blue cave. It gets blue on the inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ok the water is sort of blue. But come on cute couple photo right!

We finally used the last bag of chips for the birds. In exchange for safe passage to the beach.

We finally used the last bag of chips for the birds. In exchange for safe passage to the beach.

ok beach time!

ok beach time!

Jodo is a rock beach, but soft rocks. I saw some people skipping them it was too cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really regret not bringing my snorkel now.

If you look closely you can see rock colored fish. It took a five minutue conversation like this for me to see them:

Tetsuya: there’s fish

Carrie: no there’s not, where

T: right there

C: no those are rocks

etc, etc, till finally my eyes focused on the spiny little things.

ITS COLD!

ITS COLD!

I alone braved the cold water, Tetsuya’s strengths lie elsewhere.

It was so cold, I had to float on top or else I would start going numb.

It was so cold, I had to float on top or else I would start going numb.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I also saw some Japanese women in Bikinis!!! I was so impressed. We have been to the beach a few times and have yet to see a bikini that wasn’t covered with a t-shirt like I was in Christian Youth Camp.  We hear it’s because women here don’t want to get tan. So I was so surprised to see two beautiful ladies in bikinis, I miss that sight.  Come Japan, Join me. muwahahahahaha.

 

So long! Till next time!

So long! Till next time!

Don't judge

Don’t judge

So I really really really wanted Cook Out, but real char-grilled burgers are sort of lacking here. Even the ground beef I buy in the grocery store is usually 50%beef 50% pork. So we saw a MC and went for it. I regretted the decision about an hour or so later. As per usual.

Leave a Reply

