Music Festival!

Music Festival!

So the earthquake and Tsunami that rocked Japan was almost 3 years ago, but reconstruction is still under way.

Memorial in front of dilapidated building that has yet to be reconstructed.

Memorial in front of dilapidated building that has yet to be reconstructed.

There are still people living in temporary housing and there is still a lot of work to be done.

temporary housing units

temporary housing units 

Though don’t get me wrong these units are actually not too shabby. But they are rather small, and are supposed to be temporary.

There are a lot of free events to help lift the spirits of the survivors. I went to one of these events over two days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Check out the Groovy rainbow decorations

My first reaction was that it was a hippie love concert. lol.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were clowns, rainbows and free stuff.

I love a “Really Really Free Market” Don’t you? I didn’t take anything even though they offered, but I did take this lovely photograph!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They had everyone who came write a message to be posted on the wall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A photo within a photo. I wrote a message and they took a photo of it! So then I took a photo to post on the blog

A photo within a photo. I wrote a message and they took a photo of it! So then I took a photo to post on the blog

They also made Mochi! Yes! Finally I get to see how my beloved glutenious rice snack was made in the good old days! Its hard work. You have a mass of rice and you beat it with a giant wooden mallet till its soft and yummy.

Sorry no pictures. Saturday was the first day and I had no idea what was going on and I forgot my camera. But here is an old photo of Tetsuya making it in his hometown!

Tetsuya in his younger days taken by one of his old friends. Who must have realized how terrifying Tetsuya could be if you make him really really angry.

Tetsuya in his younger days taken by one of his old friends. Who must have realized how terrifying Tetsuya could be if you make him really really angry.

Afterwards I ran off, mainly because I find clowns rather unsettling. It started at 10 am and went to 6pm. And you could hear the Music at Tetsuya’s office. Most was decent, we got lucky!

Sunday I came prepared with my camera! No mochi making though. But they did offer free beer- I said I was working though. Something about the alcohol here in Japan upsets my stomach, so I try not to drink much.

Overall cute event. Lots of music some good and some bad, very nice people who are just trying to make the world a happier place.

Sadly though at some point in time I lost my mobile internet. I had a cute little balck card that would give me wifi. So now have to buy a new one. There goes my new future shoes!

As always let’s end with some food:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So to my knowledge this dish was like Moo Goo Gai Pan over deep fried rice noodles. Tasty but sort of strange combination.

2 thoughts on “Music Festival!

  1. Carrie, you seem to be fitting in quite nicely. Or shall we say, “you have been assimulated”! I enjoy readnig your blogs, they make me feel like I’m right there with you. Hope Autumn is as pretty there as it is here. Love from the USA…

    Like

Leave a Reply

