NPR 100 best Sci-fi and Fantasy Novels.

So Here is a very Non Japan related post. But I forgot my camera today so this is what was on my mind.

http://www.npr.org/2011/08/11/139085843/your-picks-top-100-science-fiction-fantasy-books

I’m currently reading through a poll selected list of sci-fi and fantasy books. I discovered the list like 3 years ago and I try to read  book I wouldn’t normally read every year off the list.

I have read less than half.

The ones struck out, are ones I have read whether I like them or not. The ones in BOLD I have either started reading and stopped because I hated so much.

Or I’m not done reading them, as with some series, like Song of Ice and Fire. Obviously that one is not finished yet. And I’ll finish the Dark Tower series when I get to it, lol.  I have a tablet full of Stephen King Novels I’m slowly wading through.

But I’m so done with The Wheel of Time.

The numbering gets real weird half way through. I don’t know why, something happened when I copy and pasted the link. Sorry, but I’m not a professional blogger and that is too much to fix since like probably 2 people will read this blog post. =)

  1. The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy, by J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, by Douglas Adams
  3. Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card
  4. The Dune Chronicles, by Frank Herbert
  5. A Song Of Ice And Fire Series, by George R. R. Martin
  6. 1984, by George Orwell
  7. Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
  8. The Foundation Trilogy, by Isaac Asimov
  9. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
  10. American Gods, by Neil Gaiman
  11. The Princess Bride, by William Goldman
  12. The Wheel Of Time Series, by Robert Jordan
  13. Animal Farm, by George Orwell
  14. Neuromancer, by William Gibson
  15. Watchmen, by Alan Moore
  16. I, Robot, by Isaac Asimov
  17. Stranger In A Strange Land, by Robert Heinlein
  18. The Kingkiller Chronicles, by Patrick Rothfuss
  19. Slaughterhouse-Five, by Kurt Vonnegut
  20. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
  21. Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?, by Philip K. Dick
  22. The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood
  23. The Dark Tower Series, by Stephen King
  24. 2001: A Space Odyssey, by Arthur C. Clarke
  25. The Stand, by Stephen King
  26. Snow Crash, by Neal Stephenson
  27. The Martian Chronicles, by Ray Bradbury
  28. Cat’s Cradle, by Kurt Vonnegut
  29. The Sandman Series, by Neil Gaiman
  30. A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess
  31. Starship Troopers, by Robert Heinlein
  32. Watership Down, by Richard Adams
  33. Dragonflight, by Anne McCaffrey
  34. The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress, by Robert Heinlein
  35. A Canticle For Leibowitz, by Walter M. Miller
  36. The Time Machine, by H.G. Wells
  37. 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea, by Jules Verne
  38. Flowers For Algernon, by Daniel Keys
  39. The War Of The Worlds, by H.G. Wells
  40. The Chronicles Of Amber, by Roger Zelazny
  41. The Belgariad, by David Eddings
  42. The Mists Of Avalon, by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  43. The Mistborn Series, by Brandon Sanderson

 44. Ringworld, by LaNiven

45. The Left Hand Of Darkness, by Ursula K. LeGuin ( I haven’t read this one, but I have read some others in the same series which I loved!)

46. The Silmarillion, by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. The Once And Future King, by T.H. White
  2. Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman
  3. Childhood’s End, by Arthur C. Clarke
  4. Contact, by Carl Sagan
  5. The Hyperion Cantos, by Dan Simmons
  6. Stardust, by Neil Gaiman
  7. Cryptonomicon, by Neal Stephenson
  8. World War Z, by Max Brooks
  9. The Last Unicorn, by Peter S. Beagle
  10. The Forever War, by Joe Haldeman
  11. Small Gods, by Terry Pratchett
  12. The Chronicles Of Thomas Covenant, The Unbeliever, by Stephen R. Donaldson
  13. The Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold
  14. Going Postal, by Terry Pratchett
  15. The Mote In God’s Eye, by Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle
  16. The Sword Of Truth, by Terry Goodkind
  17. The Road, by Cormac McCarthy
  18. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, by Susanna Clarke
  19. I Am Legend, by Richard Matheson
  20. The Riftwar Saga, by Raymond E. Feist
  21. The Shannara Trilogy, by Terry Brooks
  22. The Conan The Barbarian Series, by R.E. Howard
  23. The Farseer Trilogy, by Robin Hobb
  24. The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger
  25. The Way Of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson
  26. A Journey To The Center Of The Earth, by Jules Verne
  27. The Legend Of Drizzt Series, by R.A. Salvatore
  28. Old Man’s War, by John Scalzi
  29. The Diamond Age, by Neil Stephenson
  30. Rendezvous With Rama, by Arthur C. Clarke
  31. The Kushiel’s Legacy Series, by Jacqueline Carey
  32. The Dispossessed, by Ursula K. LeGuin
  33. Something Wicked This Way Comes, by Ray Bradbury
  34. Wicked, by Gregory Maguire
  35. The Malazan Book Of The Fallen Series, by Steven Erikson
  36. The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde
  37. The Culture Series, by Iain M. Banks
  38. The Crystal Cave, by Mary Stewart
  39. Anathem, by Neal Stephenson
  40. The Codex Alera Series, by Jim Butcher
  41. The Book Of The New Sun, by Gene Wolfe
  42. The Thrawn Trilogy, by Timothy Zahn
  43. The Outlander Series, by Diana Gabaldan
  44. The Elric Saga, by Michael Moorcock
  45. The Illustrated Man, by Ray Bradbury
  46. Sunshine, by Robin McKinley
  47. A Fire Upon The Deep, by Vernor Vinge
  48. The Caves Of Steel, by Isaac Asimov
  49. The Mars Trilogy, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  50. Lucifer’s Hammer, by Larry Niven & Jerry Pournelle
  51. Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis
  52. Perdido Street Station, by China Mieville
  53. The Xanth Series, by Piers Anthony
  54. The Space Trilogy, by C.S. Lewis

Hey you made it to the end congrats!  The secret code weird is Sleepy Hollow. Message me and I’ll send you a happy emoticon in reply!

6 thoughts on “NPR 100 best Sci-fi and Fantasy Novels.

  1. Frankenstein would take you maybe an afternoon to read, so next time it’s cold and you’re bored, you can cross that one off your list. And I actually thought it was really interesting! Nothing like the movies. Although it gets long-winded towards the end.
    Watership Down! I’ve heard good things about that one. Maybe I’ll read one for you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Carrie: Now I’m questioning whether we are actually related! I can’t believe you didn’t like “A Song of Ice & Fire”, and “The Dark Tower” series. Both are in my all-time top 10 fav list! There must be a broken chromozome somewhere in your makeup. LOL. Hope your time away from the States is wonderful, exciting, inspirational and romantic. Can’t wait to see you again, little neice.

    Like

    • Actually I love those series! I put. ” Or I’m not done reading them, as with some series, like Song of Ice and Fire.” Lol. So I’m currently reading them. So those with strikes I haven’t finished reading either because I don’t want to or because I haven’t gotten to them yet. Sorry for the confusion. On my list in Word I have different highlighted colors but this blog deleted all of them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

