Yoisa

So apparently Yoisa is a celebration to brighten up the atmosphere of the city.  After the tsunami, Kamishi didn’t have it for several yeas. But last year it made a come back!

 

So basically it’s a little bit like carnival in the Caribbean.  Not really, but at the time that’s what I thought. On a rainy Saturday, I bemoaned that fact that I couldn’t wear my Yukata but got excited that everyone in the parade would be wearing one!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

People form groups based on school, company, organization and do a nice dance to to traditional Japanese beat.

 

 

Sorry for the long unedited video, maybe one day I’ll learn how to do basic editing.  It is the very beginning of the dance. So people were just starting to get warmed up. One of Tetsuya’s coworkers came with me, and his other coworker was the women in the video coordinating the kids!

Kamaishi Rugby team.

Kamaishi Rugby team.

But everyone goes around the street doing the same beat saying Yoisa for maybe 45 mins? I don’t know, I only stayed for 30 minutes. It was raining and my fragile Caribbean acclimated body was not used to 70 degree weather.

 

 

Before hand they had some more cultural demonstrations,

I'm the creeper who took a pic of children trying to play a game to win goldfish.

I’m the creeper who took a pic of children trying to play a game to win goldfish.

I’m sure the parents are just as happy in Japan to have a random goldfish that will die in a week as American parents are.

Lots of street food

Yum street food

Yum street food

 

It is just a nice celebration.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite Yukata

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Ohhhh surprise food post!

 

Can you guess what's inside?

Can you guess what’s inside?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can you see the octopus tentacle? Yummy! Taco Yaki! Taco= octopus not Mexicanish food

Can you see the octopus tentacle? Yummy! Taco Yaki! Taco= octopus not Mexicanish food

 

2 thoughts on “Yoisa

Leave a Reply

